Geert

17 years ago Geert came to Kenya for the first time. In the meantime he has been in Kenya for 28 times!

His passion is helping the needy is East Africa, specially vulnerable children. In 2008, Geert founded the „Malaika Children Home“ in Njoro/Nakuru. In order to make his aid-project more popular, Geert organized two charity-bike-rides from Cape Town, South Africa, to Kenya, the so called  „CROSSING-BORDERS-EXPEDITIONS“, each ~10,000kms long.

Geert, who is able to speak swahili, normally spends a couple of months per year in Kenya, “my second home”, as he uses to say. Right now he is in charge of organising the main preparations for the coming “RAINBOW-CHILDREN-CENTER”.

presse_durchafrika_2_druck
jutze-homepage

Julian

Julian and Geert became friends at the University of Marburg, Germany, where both of them were studying Geography on diploma. And both had interest in “Peace- and Conflict Research”, a subject which is only offered at marburg University“, and which both of them chose as a minor subject.

Julian …or as we call him „Jutze“ (his nickname) has worked for many years for environmental organisations, namely for „Greenpeace“ as well as for the „WWF“.

Nowadays the father of two kids works for the Labour Union in Marburg.

Andreas

Andreas is not only a founding member, but also our Honorary Chairman. or should we say „Honorary Wheel-Chairman“? Because Andreas himself is paralized since he was involved in a traffic accident 30 years ago.

Andreas is one of the most unique and extraordinary adventureres of our time: he travels the world to exotic places in his wheelchair – no matter how dangerous or complicated the travel would be. In India, Andy went with his wheelchair from the mouth of the Holy Ganges River to its’ source in the Himalayan Mountains or crossed the deserts of Syria, Jordan and Iran.

Andreas is an ambassador of our aid work. his greeting words can be found here.

foto-andreas-proeve
lena

Lena

Lena is our “Minister for Finances”!

Geert’s presentation about his long charity-Bike-rides made Lena curious: she wanted to travel to “his” orpahange: the „Malaika children’s Home“ in Kenya. So she came there as a volunteer  – and spent many months in the Home and did a wonderful job!

Since her internship at the „Malaika Home“ Lena has been to Kenya for a couple of times. She also joins Geert from time to time to organise the preparations for the “Rainbow Children Center” in Kenya.

Lena works for handicapped and elderly people in Wolfenbuttel, Germany.

Marc

Marc loves working for handicapped people on Germany. To be precise: he is employed at the “Neuerkerode Foundation”, a renowned institution in Braunschweig which cares for handicapped people.

Marc is passionate about manual work too, and ist very much skilled in that. Whenever we are in need of information desks (for events etc.) it’s Marc who decides! We are happy about his know-how in manual work…

marc
dominik

Dominik

Like Lena, also Dominik used to work as a volunteer at the „Malaika orphanage“ in Kenya. Actually he spent full six month at the project near the equator! And did an awsome job!

After his long stay in Afrika he started his studies at the University of Erfurt. his subjects: International Politics. In the meantime he has been abroad and took part in two student-exchange-programs h (Ecuador and Spain).

Tim

Tim has been in Kenya twice and loves working for the RAINBOW-CHILDREN FOUNDATION!

Tim is  the contact person for our kenyan constructor, Ndiritu Muchiri. Moreover, he is responsible for the public relations (social media etc.)

Tim studies Politics at the University of Vechta.

dsc_0078
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit einem Klick auf OK stimmen Sie der Benutzung von Cookies zu.

Geert

Geert kann auf 17 Jahre Kenia-Erfahrung zurückblicken! Schon 28 kenianische Einreisestempel füllen seine Reisepässe!

Seine Liebe für Kenia zeigt sich in seinem unermüdlichen Einsatz für die Schutzbedürftigen des ostafrikanischen Landes. So hat er 2008 das „Malaika Children Home“ in Njoro/Nakuru mitgegründet. Um das Hilfsprojekt bekannter zu machen, führte Geert zweimal öffentlichkeitswirksame Charity-Fundraising-Fahrradtouren durch Afrika durch, die so genannten „GRENZERFAHRUNGEN-Expeditionen“. Jede dieser beiden Fahrradtouren waren etwa 10.000 Kilometer lang und führten von Kapstadt nach Kenia zum Malaika-Waisenhaus.

Geert, der Suaheli sprechen kann, ist zweimal pro Jahr in Kenia und leitet die Vorbereitungsarbeiten für das RAINBOW-CHILDREN-CENTER vor Ort.

presse_durchafrika_2_druck
jutze-homepage

Julian

Julian und Geert lernten sich an der Universität in Marburg kennen. Beide studierten im Geographischen Institut. Und sie einte das Interesse am Fach „Friedens- und Konfliktforschung“, ein Fach, das nur in Marburg angeboten wird und das sie im Nebenfach studierten.

Neben dem Studium legte sich der „Jutze“ (sein Spitzname) viele Jahre für den Umweltschutz in’s Zeug und war sowohl für „Greenpeace“ als auch für den „WWF“ aktiv.

Heute arbeitet der zweifache Familienvater Julian bei Verdi in Marburg.

Andreas

Andreas ist nicht nur ein Gründungsmitglied, sondern unser Honorary Chairman, also unser Ehrenvorsitzender. Um genauer zu sein: Er ist unser „Honorary Wheel-Chairman“, denn Andreas sitzt im Rollstuhl. Seit einem Verkehrsunfall vor 30 Jahren ist Andreas querschnittgelähmt.

Andreas ist einer der außergewöhnlichsten Abenteurer unserer Zeit: Der Fotograf bricht mit seinem Rollstuhl regelmäßig auf spektakuläre Reisen in exotische Regionen unseres Planeten auf: So kämpfte er sich in Indien von der Mündung des heiligen Flusses Ganges hinauf in das Himalaya zur Quelle, durchrollte die Wüsten Syriens, Jordaniens und des Irans oder erkundete den Flusslauf des Mekong-Flusses.

Andreas ist Botschafter für unsere Vereinsarbeit. Sein Grußwort findet ihr hier.

foto-andreas-proeve
lena

Lena

Lena ist unsere Finanzministerin!

Geerts Lichtbildshow über seine langen Charity-Fahrradtouren machte sie auf das von ihm mitgegründete „Malaika“-Waisenhaus in Kenia aufmerksam. Sie bewarb sich auf eine Praktikumsstelle – und kurz darauf landete sie in Kenia. Lena brachte sich monatelang toll in das Hilfsprojekt am Äquator ein.

Seit ihrem Praktikum bei „Malaika“ ist Lena schon mehrere Male in Kenia gewesen. An den RAINBOW-CHILDREN-Vorbereitungsfahrten hat Lena teilgenommen.

Lena studiert an der Westfalia-Universität Salzgitter Stadtmanagement.

Marc

Dass Marc ein Herz für Menschen mit Behinderungen hat, zeigt sich dadurch, dass er einen Beruf gewählt hat, bei dem er genau dieses Herz von Bedeutung ist: Marc arbeitet für die „Stiftung Neuerkerode“, die sich auch der Behindertenhilfe verschrieben hat.

Marc ist auch handwerklich ausgebildet, was unserer Arbeit sehr zugute kommt. So ist er zuständig für das Konzipieren von Infotischen, die wir auf Veranstaltungen präsentieren können. Marc wird die Bauarbeiten in Kenia mit seinem Sachverstand begleiten.

marc
dominik

Dominik

Auch Dominik war bereits ein Praktikant bei „Malaika“. Ein ganzes halbes Jahr hat er sich den Waisenkindern bewundernswert gewidmet!

Nach seinem Afrika-Aufenthalt hat es ihn an die Universität Erfurt verschlagen, wo er Internationale Beziehungen studiert. Inzwischen liegen auch zwei Auslands-Semester hinter ihm: So studierte er in Quito (Ecuador) und Cordoba (Spanien).

Im RAINBOW-CHILDREN Verein hat Dominik die Rolle des Kassenprüfers übernommen.

Tim

Bereits zweimal ist Tim mit in Kenia gewesen und engagiert sich mit viel Eifer für den RAINBOW-CHILDREN Verein!

Tim ist Ansprechpartner für unseren kenianischen Bauingenieur Ndiritu Muchiri. Zudem hat er den Hut auf für unsere künftige Öffentlichkeitsarbeit in den sozialen Medien.

Da Tim eine schöne Handschrift hat, ist er einstimmig zum Schriftführer unseres Vereins erkoren worden 🙂

Tim studiert an der Universität Vechta Politikwissenschaften.

dsc_0078
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit einem Klick auf OK stimmen Sie der Benutzung von Cookies zu.